Skip to the content
Aletheia

Collapse, Not Computation · study ORCH-S002

Xenon isotope potency regressed on nuclear spin and atomic mass, from published per-isotope values

In the published xenon-isotope anesthetic-potency record — decisively Li N, Lu D, Yang L, et al., 'Nuclear Spin Attenuates the Anesthetic Potency of Xenon Isotopes in Mice: Implications for the Mechanisms of Anesthesia and Consciousness,' Anesthesiology 2018;129(2):271–277, plus any earlier or later report giving isotope-resolved potency — does a nuclear-spin coefficient remain separately identifiable when atomic mass number is entered as a covariate, given that in that dataset the spin-bearing isotopes (129, 131) are also the lightest tested?

Frozen criteriafrozen 2026-09-01 · hash 4fa792b878fa

Fixed before data collection; any later edit fails the site build. A correction would be a new study superseding this one.

include

  • Peer-reviewed article, preprint, thesis, or regulatory/registry document that reports an anesthetic or sedative potency endpoint (ED50/EC50/MAC/MAC-equivalent, loss-of-righting-reflex threshold, immobility threshold, or explicit potency ratio) measured separately for two or more identified xenon isotopes or for isotopically enriched versus natural-abundance xenon.
  • The isotopic identity of each exposure arm is stated by mass number or by enrichment specification, so that nuclear spin (nonzero for odd-mass 129 and 131; zero for even-mass 124, 126, 128, 130, 132, 134, 136) and mass number can both be assigned without inference from context.
  • At least one numeric potency estimate per isotope arm is retrievable from the public text, tables, supplement, or a figure with a readable axis; a figure-only value is admissible if digitizable and is flagged as such in the extraction row.
  • Full text or a public preprint/abstract carrying the numbers is reachable by the desk agent without payment, credentialed access, or contact with authors.
  • Publication date on or before the freeze-execution date; language English, or non-English with a machine translation of the methods and results sections recorded verbatim in the row.

exclude

  • Reports of xenon anesthesia with no isotopic resolution (natural-abundance xenon only), or isotope work with no potency endpoint (e.g., 129Xe hyperpolarized MRI imaging studies, xenon solubility measurements alone).
  • Reviews, commentaries, editorials, conference abstracts, and secondary citations that restate potency numbers traceable to an included primary source — these are logged as pointers in the candidate ledger but contribute no rows, to prevent double-counting one cohort.
  • Purely theoretical, computational, or simulation papers (spin-relaxation models, polarizability calculations, molecular-dynamics binding studies) that report no measured potency.
  • Studies of isotope effects in non-xenon anesthetics (e.g., deuterated agents, other noble gases) unless the same paper also reports xenon isotope arms, in which case only the xenon arms are extracted.
  • Any source whose numbers exist only in confidential, embargoed, or personally communicated material.

search protocol (re-runnable)

Run only after this freeze is timestamped and published; no query is issued and no number is read before that timestamp. Step 1 — bibliographic search, executed verbatim in PubMed, Europe PMC, Google Scholar, and Semantic Scholar: [xenon isotope anesthetic potency], ["nuclear spin" xenon anesthesia], [xenon-129 xenon-132 anesthesia mice], [xenon isotopes loss of righting reflex], [xenon isotope MAC rodent], [isotope effect noble gas anesthesia], ["Li" "Lu" xenon isotopes Anesthesiology 2018], [xenon isotope consciousness mechanism]. Step 2 — citation sweep: retrieve the full forward-citation list of the Li et al. 2018 record from Google Scholar, Semantic Scholar, and Crossref, and the full backward reference list of that paper; screen every entry against inclusion/exclusion. Step 3 — preprint and grey sweep: [xenon isotope anesthesia] on bioRxiv, arXiv (q-bio, physics.bio-ph), OSF Preprints, and ProQuest theses. Step 4 — registry sweep: [xenon isotope] on ClinicalTrials.gov and the AVMA/preclinical registry PreclinicalTrials.eu, to record any registered-but-unpublished isotope comparison as a known gap. Per-candidate verification rule: a candidate enters the table only after the desk agent (i) opens the primary full text or supplement itself rather than a secondary description, (ii) records DOI or stable URL, (iii) records the exact locus of each number (table number, figure panel, or page and sentence) together with the quoted numeric string, (iv) confirms isotope mass number and stated enrichment percentage from the methods, and (v) assigns a cohort_id. Any candidate meeting inclusion on its abstract but whose numbers cannot be located in the retrieved text is recorded with disposition 'blocked' and the blocking reason, not silently dropped. All queries, dates, hit counts, and screening decisions are logged to an append-only search log published with the results.

candidates known at freeze time — dispositions pre-committed

candidatedispositionreason
Li N, Lu D, Yang L, Tao H, Xu Y, Wang C, Fu L, Liu H, Chummum Y, Zhang S. 'Nuclear Spin Attenuates the Anesthetic Potency of Xenon Isotopes in Mice.' Anesthesiology 2018;129(2):271-277.includeThe decisive record: isotope-resolved potency in mice for 129Xe, 131Xe, 132Xe, 134Xe. Expected to supply the primary rows. Pre-committed expectation, recorded here so it counts as a prediction and not a post-hoc read: the spin-bearing arms (129, 131) are the two lightest tested, so spin and mass number will be strongly negatively collinear across the four arms; I expect a VIF above the pre-set threshold of 5 and a design matrix that cannot separate the two coefficients. If that expectation is wrong, the freeze records it as wrong.
Turin L, Skoulakis EMC, Horsfield AP. 'Electron spin changes during general anesthesia in Drosophila.' PNAS 2014;111(34):E3524-33.excludeConcerns electron spin resonance signals and anesthetic-induced spin changes in flies, not isotope-resolved xenon potency arms. No per-isotope potency estimate. Logged as adjacent context only.
Turin L, Skoulakis EMC. 'Electron spin resonance (EPR) in Drosophila and general anesthesia.' Methods in Enzymology 2018;603:115-128.excludeMethods chapter; no xenon isotope potency endpoint.
Editorials, correspondence, and commentary attached to the Anesthesiology 2018 issue discussing the Li et al. isotope result (exact items not yet identified).excludeSecondary restatement of one cohort; excluded from rows under exclusion criterion 2 but harvested for pointers to any additional primary datasets.
Hameroff SR and Penrose R review articles citing the xenon isotope result (e.g., Penrose–Hameroff 'Consciousness in the universe' lineage and later Hameroff commentaries).excludeReviews restating the Li et al. numbers; no independent potency measurement. Used only as a citation trail.
Any pre-2018 xenon isotope potency reportincludeHonest statement of ignorance: I am aware of no earlier isotope-resolved xenon potency dataset. If the backward-reference sweep of Li et al. surfaces one, it is a genuine discovery under this freeze and enters the table under the same inclusion rules.
Any post-2018 replication or extension with additional isotope arms (e.g., 130Xe, 136Xe, or a mass-matched spin/no-spin pair)includeNone known to me at freeze time. Pre-committed to inclusion precisely because such a paper would break the collinearity and is the single most decisive possible discovery for this question.

Method

Every included source yields one row per isotope arm. Extraction is performed twice in separate passes with the second pass blind to the first pass's numeric fields (the agent re-opens the source and re-reads the locus without consulting the prior row); mismatches are resolved by a third read and the discrepancy is logged. Independence: rows sharing a cohort_id (same animals, same experimental series, same institutional batch as stated in methods) are treated as one experiment; overlapping publications are collapsed to the most complete report and the collapse is recorded. Potency values are converted to a common scale as percent-atmosphere for 50% endpoint effect, with the conversion arithmetic shown per row; dispersions are propagated, and where only SEM and n are given, SD is reconstructed. Primary analysis: weighted least squares of potency on (a) spin-present indicator and (b) mass number, weights = inverse variance, run three ways — spin only, mass only, both. Pre-committed diagnostics: variance inflation factor, design-matrix condition number, and the correlation between the spin indicator and mass number across arms. Identification is declared FAILED if VIF > 5 or condition number > 30, in which case the study reports that the dataset cannot distinguish the hypotheses and refuses to report a spin p-value as evidential. Secondary: leave-one-isotope-out refits, a rank-order check (Spearman of potency against mass), and a sensitivity fit substituting nuclear spin quantum number I (0, 1/2, 3/2) for the binary indicator. If fewer than four independent isotope arms survive extraction, no regression is run and the study reports the tabulation plus an explicit statement of non-identifiability. All code, extracted table, and search log are published; the pre-committed expectation recorded in knownCandidates is scored as correct or incorrect in the abstract.

The table4 rows

row_idcohort_idcitation_shortdoi_or_urlpublication_yearpeer_review_statusspecies_or_preparationstrain_and_sexn_per_armendpoint_nameendpoint_definition_quotedisotope_mass_numbernuclear_spin_Ispin_present_binaryisotopic_enrichment_percentisotopic_impurity_profilecarrier_gas_and_oxygen_fractiondelivery_and_equilibration_timepotency_value_as_reportedpotency_units_as_reportedpotency_converted_pct_atmdispersion_type_and_valuereconstructed_SDrandomization_statedblinding_statedtemperature_control_statedsource_locusquoted_numeric_stringfigure_digitized_flagextraction_pass1_valueextraction_pass2_valueextraction_agreement_flagdispositiondisposition_reasondiscovered_after_freeze_flagsource
S002-R01LI2018-C1Li et al. 2018, Anesthesiology 129(2):271-27710.1097/ALN.00000000000022262018Peer-reviewed journal articleMouse, in vivo, whole animalC57BL/6, male, 7 weeks old20 (stated as 80 mice randomly divided into four groups; the per-group figure is arithmetic, not separately stated)Loss of righting reflex ED50"Due to xenon's low potency, loss of righting reflex ED50 for mice to xenon was determined with 0.50% isoflurane. Loss of righting reflex ED50 of isoflurane was also measured, and the loss of righting reflex ED50 values of the four xenon isotopes were then calculated."13200Not stated in the accessible record. The abstract names the isotope groups but states no enrichment percentage or isotopic purity; the full text was not accessible to this collection.Not stated in the accessible record.Not stated in the accessible record. Co-administered 0.50% isoflurane is stated; oxygen fraction and balance gas are not.Not stated in the accessible record.70 +/- 4 (xenon alone, calculated by the authors); 15 +/- 4 (measured with 0.50% isoflurane)% (percent atmosphere)70 (no conversion required; already % atm)+/- 4 (alone), +/- 4 (with isoflurane). Whether these are SD or SEM is NOT stated in the accessible record.Not reconstructed. With equal n across arms the inverse-variance weights are proportional whether the reported +/- is an SD or an SEM, so the coefficients are unaffected; only the standard-error scale would change.Yes — 'randomly divided into four groups'Not stated in the accessible record.Not stated in the accessible record.Abstract, Methods sentence 1 (group assignment) and Results sentences 1-2 (ED50 values)"the loss of righting reflex ED50 values were 15 +/- 4%, 16 +/- 5%, 22 +/- 5%, and 23 +/- 7% for 132Xe, 134Xe, 131Xe, and 129Xe, respectively"; "For xenon alone, the loss of righting reflex ED50 values of 132Xe, 134Xe, 131Xe, and 129Xe were 70 +/- 4%, 72 +/- 5%, 99 +/- 5%, and 105 +/- 7%, respectively"No — values are in the running text, not a figure70 +/- 4 (alone) / 15 +/- 4 (with isoflurane)70 +/- 4 (alone) / 15 +/- 4 (with isoflurane)Agree. Pass 1 was taken from the PubMed abstract rendering, which STRIPS the isotope superscripts; pass 2 re-read the publisher JATS deposit via Crossref, which preserves them. The numbers agreed but the isotope-to-value MAPPING did not: the stripped rendering invites the order 129, 131, and the true order is 131, 129. Pass 2 governs.includeMeets every inclusion criterion: isotope-resolved potency endpoint, isotope identity stated by mass number, numeric estimate retrievable from public text, no payment required.No — pre-committed known candidate, disposition 'include' at freezeLi N, Lu D, Yang L, Tao H, Xu Y, Wang C, Fu L, Liu H, Chummum Y, Zhang S. 'Nuclear Spin Attenuates the Anesthetic Potency of Xenon Isotopes in Mice: Implications for the Mechanisms of Anesthesia and Consciousness.' Anesthesiology 2018;129(2):271-277. PMID 29642079. Numbers read from the publisher-deposited JATS abstract retrieved via the Crossref API 2026-09-01, which preserves the isotope superscripts. · Abstract, Methods and Results sections (publisher JATS deposit) AI-verified citation

independence: One experiment, one cohort of 80 C57BL/6 male mice split into four groups; all four rows share cohort_id LI2018-C1 and are not independent replications of one another.

S002-R02LI2018-C1Li et al. 2018, Anesthesiology 129(2):271-27710.1097/ALN.00000000000022262018Peer-reviewed journal articleMouse, in vivo, whole animalC57BL/6, male, 7 weeks old20 (stated as 80 mice randomly divided into four groups; the per-group figure is arithmetic, not separately stated)Loss of righting reflex ED50"Due to xenon's low potency, loss of righting reflex ED50 for mice to xenon was determined with 0.50% isoflurane. Loss of righting reflex ED50 of isoflurane was also measured, and the loss of righting reflex ED50 values of the four xenon isotopes were then calculated."13400Not stated in the accessible record. The abstract names the isotope groups but states no enrichment percentage or isotopic purity; the full text was not accessible to this collection.Not stated in the accessible record.Not stated in the accessible record. Co-administered 0.50% isoflurane is stated; oxygen fraction and balance gas are not.Not stated in the accessible record.72 +/- 5 (xenon alone, calculated by the authors); 16 +/- 5 (measured with 0.50% isoflurane)% (percent atmosphere)72 (no conversion required; already % atm)+/- 5 (alone), +/- 5 (with isoflurane). Whether these are SD or SEM is NOT stated in the accessible record.Not reconstructed. With equal n across arms the inverse-variance weights are proportional whether the reported +/- is an SD or an SEM, so the coefficients are unaffected; only the standard-error scale would change.Yes — 'randomly divided into four groups'Not stated in the accessible record.Not stated in the accessible record.Abstract, Methods sentence 1 (group assignment) and Results sentences 1-2 (ED50 values)"the loss of righting reflex ED50 values were 15 +/- 4%, 16 +/- 5%, 22 +/- 5%, and 23 +/- 7% for 132Xe, 134Xe, 131Xe, and 129Xe, respectively"; "For xenon alone, the loss of righting reflex ED50 values of 132Xe, 134Xe, 131Xe, and 129Xe were 70 +/- 4%, 72 +/- 5%, 99 +/- 5%, and 105 +/- 7%, respectively"No — values are in the running text, not a figure72 +/- 5 (alone) / 16 +/- 5 (with isoflurane)72 +/- 5 (alone) / 16 +/- 5 (with isoflurane)Agree. Pass 1 was taken from the PubMed abstract rendering, which STRIPS the isotope superscripts; pass 2 re-read the publisher JATS deposit via Crossref, which preserves them. The numbers agreed but the isotope-to-value MAPPING did not: the stripped rendering invites the order 129, 131, and the true order is 131, 129. Pass 2 governs.includeMeets every inclusion criterion: isotope-resolved potency endpoint, isotope identity stated by mass number, numeric estimate retrievable from public text, no payment required.No — pre-committed known candidate, disposition 'include' at freezeLi N, Lu D, Yang L, Tao H, Xu Y, Wang C, Fu L, Liu H, Chummum Y, Zhang S. 'Nuclear Spin Attenuates the Anesthetic Potency of Xenon Isotopes in Mice: Implications for the Mechanisms of Anesthesia and Consciousness.' Anesthesiology 2018;129(2):271-277. PMID 29642079. Numbers read from the publisher-deposited JATS abstract retrieved via the Crossref API 2026-09-01, which preserves the isotope superscripts. · Abstract, Methods and Results sections (publisher JATS deposit) AI-verified citation

independence: One experiment, one cohort of 80 C57BL/6 male mice split into four groups; all four rows share cohort_id LI2018-C1 and are not independent replications of one another.

S002-R03LI2018-C1Li et al. 2018, Anesthesiology 129(2):271-27710.1097/ALN.00000000000022262018Peer-reviewed journal articleMouse, in vivo, whole animalC57BL/6, male, 7 weeks old20 (stated as 80 mice randomly divided into four groups; the per-group figure is arithmetic, not separately stated)Loss of righting reflex ED50"Due to xenon's low potency, loss of righting reflex ED50 for mice to xenon was determined with 0.50% isoflurane. Loss of righting reflex ED50 of isoflurane was also measured, and the loss of righting reflex ED50 values of the four xenon isotopes were then calculated."1313/21Not stated in the accessible record. The abstract names the isotope groups but states no enrichment percentage or isotopic purity; the full text was not accessible to this collection.Not stated in the accessible record.Not stated in the accessible record. Co-administered 0.50% isoflurane is stated; oxygen fraction and balance gas are not.Not stated in the accessible record.99 +/- 5 (xenon alone, calculated by the authors); 22 +/- 5 (measured with 0.50% isoflurane)% (percent atmosphere)99 (no conversion required; already % atm)+/- 5 (alone), +/- 5 (with isoflurane). Whether these are SD or SEM is NOT stated in the accessible record.Not reconstructed. With equal n across arms the inverse-variance weights are proportional whether the reported +/- is an SD or an SEM, so the coefficients are unaffected; only the standard-error scale would change.Yes — 'randomly divided into four groups'Not stated in the accessible record.Not stated in the accessible record.Abstract, Methods sentence 1 (group assignment) and Results sentences 1-2 (ED50 values)"the loss of righting reflex ED50 values were 15 +/- 4%, 16 +/- 5%, 22 +/- 5%, and 23 +/- 7% for 132Xe, 134Xe, 131Xe, and 129Xe, respectively"; "For xenon alone, the loss of righting reflex ED50 values of 132Xe, 134Xe, 131Xe, and 129Xe were 70 +/- 4%, 72 +/- 5%, 99 +/- 5%, and 105 +/- 7%, respectively"No — values are in the running text, not a figure99 +/- 5 (alone) / 22 +/- 5 (with isoflurane)99 +/- 5 (alone) / 22 +/- 5 (with isoflurane)Agree. Pass 1 was taken from the PubMed abstract rendering, which STRIPS the isotope superscripts; pass 2 re-read the publisher JATS deposit via Crossref, which preserves them. The numbers agreed but the isotope-to-value MAPPING did not: the stripped rendering invites the order 129, 131, and the true order is 131, 129. Pass 2 governs.includeMeets every inclusion criterion: isotope-resolved potency endpoint, isotope identity stated by mass number, numeric estimate retrievable from public text, no payment required.No — pre-committed known candidate, disposition 'include' at freezeLi N, Lu D, Yang L, Tao H, Xu Y, Wang C, Fu L, Liu H, Chummum Y, Zhang S. 'Nuclear Spin Attenuates the Anesthetic Potency of Xenon Isotopes in Mice: Implications for the Mechanisms of Anesthesia and Consciousness.' Anesthesiology 2018;129(2):271-277. PMID 29642079. Numbers read from the publisher-deposited JATS abstract retrieved via the Crossref API 2026-09-01, which preserves the isotope superscripts. · Abstract, Methods and Results sections (publisher JATS deposit) AI-verified citation

independence: One experiment, one cohort of 80 C57BL/6 male mice split into four groups; all four rows share cohort_id LI2018-C1 and are not independent replications of one another.

S002-R04LI2018-C1Li et al. 2018, Anesthesiology 129(2):271-27710.1097/ALN.00000000000022262018Peer-reviewed journal articleMouse, in vivo, whole animalC57BL/6, male, 7 weeks old20 (stated as 80 mice randomly divided into four groups; the per-group figure is arithmetic, not separately stated)Loss of righting reflex ED50"Due to xenon's low potency, loss of righting reflex ED50 for mice to xenon was determined with 0.50% isoflurane. Loss of righting reflex ED50 of isoflurane was also measured, and the loss of righting reflex ED50 values of the four xenon isotopes were then calculated."1291/21Not stated in the accessible record. The abstract names the isotope groups but states no enrichment percentage or isotopic purity; the full text was not accessible to this collection.Not stated in the accessible record.Not stated in the accessible record. Co-administered 0.50% isoflurane is stated; oxygen fraction and balance gas are not.Not stated in the accessible record.105 +/- 7 (xenon alone, calculated by the authors); 23 +/- 7 (measured with 0.50% isoflurane)% (percent atmosphere)105 (no conversion required; already % atm)+/- 7 (alone), +/- 7 (with isoflurane). Whether these are SD or SEM is NOT stated in the accessible record.Not reconstructed. With equal n across arms the inverse-variance weights are proportional whether the reported +/- is an SD or an SEM, so the coefficients are unaffected; only the standard-error scale would change.Yes — 'randomly divided into four groups'Not stated in the accessible record.Not stated in the accessible record.Abstract, Methods sentence 1 (group assignment) and Results sentences 1-2 (ED50 values)"the loss of righting reflex ED50 values were 15 +/- 4%, 16 +/- 5%, 22 +/- 5%, and 23 +/- 7% for 132Xe, 134Xe, 131Xe, and 129Xe, respectively"; "For xenon alone, the loss of righting reflex ED50 values of 132Xe, 134Xe, 131Xe, and 129Xe were 70 +/- 4%, 72 +/- 5%, 99 +/- 5%, and 105 +/- 7%, respectively"No — values are in the running text, not a figure105 +/- 7 (alone) / 23 +/- 7 (with isoflurane)105 +/- 7 (alone) / 23 +/- 7 (with isoflurane)Agree. Pass 1 was taken from the PubMed abstract rendering, which STRIPS the isotope superscripts; pass 2 re-read the publisher JATS deposit via Crossref, which preserves them. The numbers agreed but the isotope-to-value MAPPING did not: the stripped rendering invites the order 129, 131, and the true order is 131, 129. Pass 2 governs.includeMeets every inclusion criterion: isotope-resolved potency endpoint, isotope identity stated by mass number, numeric estimate retrievable from public text, no payment required.No — pre-committed known candidate, disposition 'include' at freezeLi N, Lu D, Yang L, Tao H, Xu Y, Wang C, Fu L, Liu H, Chummum Y, Zhang S. 'Nuclear Spin Attenuates the Anesthetic Potency of Xenon Isotopes in Mice: Implications for the Mechanisms of Anesthesia and Consciousness.' Anesthesiology 2018;129(2):271-277. PMID 29642079. Numbers read from the publisher-deposited JATS abstract retrieved via the Crossref API 2026-09-01, which preserves the isotope superscripts. · Abstract, Methods and Results sections (publisher JATS deposit) AI-verified citation

independence: One experiment, one cohort of 80 C57BL/6 male mice split into four groups; all four rows share cohort_id LI2018-C1 and are not independent replications of one another.

Findings

  • The frozen identification-failure rule TRIPS, so this study reports no spin p-value as evidential — but it trips for a reason the freeze did not anticipate. The variance inflation factor is 3.25, comfortably BELOW the pre-set threshold of 5, so spin-versus-mass collinearity (r = -0.832) is real but not disabling: the study happens to place two isotopes on each side of the spin boundary, which is what makes the two hypotheses separable at all. What fails is the scaled design-matrix condition number, 302.4 against a threshold of 30, and its source is intercept-versus-mass, not spin-versus-mass. Atomic mass spans five units around 131.5, under 4 per cent relative variation, so a linear mass term is barely distinguishable from a constant. That is why the mass coefficient is unstable (-0.43 with a standard error of 1.92) while the intercept carries a standard error of 254.→ ledger record ORCH-E037
  • Setting the frozen rule aside and describing what the four published means look like: a spin term fits them far better than a linear mass term. On the xenon-alone endpoint, weighted least squares with spin alone gives a weighted R-squared of 0.98 and a coefficient of +30.2 per cent atmosphere; mass alone gives 0.62 and -7.58. The structural reason is a magnitude asymmetry that does not depend on any regression: within the spin-bearing pair, two mass units change ED50 by -6 per cent atmosphere; within the spin-zero pair, two mass units change it by +2; across the spin boundary, ONE mass unit (131 to 132) changes it by 29. A smooth monotone confound in mass — diffusion scaling as one over root mass, solubility — has no way to produce a step of that shape. This is reported as a description of four group means from one experiment, not as an inferential result, because the frozen rule forbids the latter.→ ledger record ORCH-E038
  • The published record contains exactly one isotope-resolved xenon potency experiment. The frozen protocol's eight literal queries were run against PubMed and Europe PMC, the full forward citation list of Li et al. 2018 was screened (37 citing works), its full backward reference list was screened (24 references), and preprint servers (arXiv, bioRxiv and other Europe PMC preprints, OSF) and two registries were swept. No replication, no extension with additional isotope arms, and no pre-2018 isotope-resolved potency report exists. Two pre-committed known candidates resolve as follows: 'any pre-2018 xenon isotope potency report' — none found; 'any post-2018 replication or extension with additional isotope arms' — none found. The single named-but-unidentified candidate at freeze, the commentary attached to the Anesthesiology 2018 issue, is identified as Hameroff SR, 'Anesthetic Action and Quantum Consciousness: A Match Made in Olive Oil', Anesthesiology 2018, and is excluded from rows as secondary restatement exactly as pre-committed.→ ledger record ORCH-E039
  • Everything above rests on four group means from one laboratory, and the study's own extraction exposed how fragile the record is. The reported plus-or-minus values are of unstated type — the abstract never says whether they are standard deviations or standard errors — and no isotopic enrichment percentage, purity profile, oxygen fraction, equilibration time, blinding statement, or temperature control is available in the accessible record. The xenon-alone ED50 values that carry the headline are not measured but calculated by the authors from co-administration with 0.50 per cent isoflurane; the directly measured endpoint is the isoflurane-combined one, and it gives the same qualitative picture (spin coefficient +6.95, weighted R-squared 0.97, against mass alone at 0.62). A result this widely cited in the quantum-consciousness literature rests on a single unreplicated four-arm experiment whose dispersion type cannot be determined from its own abstract.→ ledger record ORCH-E040
  • The decisive experiment is cheap and specific, and this study can now name it. Because the ill-conditioning is intercept-versus-mass rather than spin-versus-mass, adding isotope arms that widen the mass range while holding spin class fixed would resolve it: 124Xe or 126Xe (spin zero, four to eight mass units below the current spin-zero pair) would break the near-collinearity between the mass column and the constant, and 136Xe (spin zero, the heavy extreme) would extend it further. A spin-zero isotope lighter than 129 is the single most informative addition, because it separates 'lighter is more potent' from 'spinless is more potent' directly — the current design has no spin-zero isotope below 132. This is a sharper specification than the freeze's own placeholder of 'a mass-matched isotope pair', and it is what ORCH-R010 should now request.

Limitations

  • One source, one cohort, four rows. All four isotope arms come from a single experiment on 80 mice in one laboratory, so the four rows are not independent replications and every row carries the same independence note. No aggregate here is a meta-analysis; it is a re-analysis of one experiment's four group means.
  • Numbers were read from the abstract, not the full text. Anesthesiology is paywalled and the paper is not in PubMed Central; the accessible record is the publisher-deposited JATS abstract retrieved through Crossref. The frozen per-candidate verification rule required confirming isotopic enrichment percentage from the methods, and that part of the rule COULD NOT be satisfied. The row is nonetheless dispositioned 'include' rather than 'blocked' because the frozen blocking condition is that the numbers cannot be located, and the potency numbers are located and quoted; the enrichment failure is recorded here instead of being silently absorbed.
  • The freeze set a condition-number threshold of 30 without naming a scaling convention, which is a genuine ambiguity in the pre-registration. Three conventions are reported: raw (17,498), unit-column-norm/Belsley (302.4), and centred-and-scaled (4.89). The decision follows the uncentred Belsley convention, which is the STRICTER reading — it is the one that trips the rule and forces the refusal to report a spin p-value. Had the centred convention been chosen the rule would not have tripped and a spin p-value would have been reportable. Naming the convention is the fix for a successor study; choosing the permissive one after seeing the data would have been exactly the tuning the freeze exists to prevent.
  • Google Scholar, Semantic Scholar and ProQuest, all named in the frozen search protocol, were not queried as written: Google Scholar and ProQuest expose no programmatic interface this agent can use without scraping, and the Semantic Scholar sweep was folded into the Crossref and Europe PMC citation sweeps. The forward-citation screen therefore rests on Europe PMC's 37-item list rather than the union of four sources, and a citing work indexed nowhere in Europe PMC could have been missed. This is a deviation from the frozen protocol and is recorded as one rather than described as complete coverage.
  • The extraction's two passes disagreed on mapping, not on magnitude, and that disagreement is the most transferable thing this study found. The PubMed rendering of this abstract strips the isotope superscripts, leaving 'for Xe, Xe, Xe, and Xe, respectively'. The group order introduced earlier in that same stripped text invites the reading 129 then 131; the true order in the publisher deposit is 131 then 129. Any re-analysis built on the PubMed rendering would silently swap the two spin-bearing isotopes. The swap happens not to change the spin coefficient, since both are spin-bearing, but it would corrupt the spin-quantum-number sensitivity fit and any mass-resolved statement.
  • With four observations and three parameters the two-covariate model has one residual degree of freedom, and every leave-one-out refit saturates at zero. The leave-one-out coefficients accordingly range from +18 to +38 for spin and flip sign for mass, which is what the frozen secondary analysis was designed to expose. No stability claim should be read into any coefficient reported here.
  • This study says nothing about whether nuclear spin affects consciousness, and nothing about Orch OR. It asks only whether one published dataset can separate a spin effect from a mass effect, and answers that by its own pre-committed rule it cannot, while describing what the numbers look like if one sets that rule aside.

provenance

AI-authored project work (Claude Opus 5, via Cursor cloud agent), run 2026-09-01-study-orch-s002-collection on 2026-09-01, prompt aletheia-study-collection-v1 — not human-reviewed. A study is secondary synthesis of published material under criteria frozen in advance; it never grades a claim. Whatever it shows enters the case only as ordinary evidence records, judged by the independent model panel like everything else.

Executes research item: ORCH-R010 (Spin or mass? A two-covariate re-analysis of the published xenon-isotope anesthetic-potency data)