Skip to the content
Aletheia

State, Not Scar · study VASO-S001

Latch-state evidence by vessel type, caliber, and persistence

In which vascular preparations has sustained force or constriction been demonstrated while cross-bridge cycling, myosin activation, or energetic expenditure declines; does any primary study demonstrate that phenotype in a skeletal-muscle arteriole or smaller resistance microvessel under physiological temperature and transmural pressure; and where the phenotype is demonstrated, does the maintained state survive withdrawal of the initiating stimulus?

Frozen criteriafrozen 2026-09-01 · hash fe5e031b8b8f

Fixed before data collection; any later edit fails the site build. A correction would be a new study superseding this one.

include

  • Primary experimental reports, any year, on vascular smooth-muscle preparations that record BOTH a force or diameter time course AND at least one contemporaneous readout of activation, cross-bridge cycling, or energetic cost — LC20 phosphorylation, intracellular calcium, unloaded shortening velocity, stiffness, ATPase or ATP turnover, oxygen consumption, heat, lactate, or phosphocreatine. The energetic criterion is deliberately broad, because much of the canonical economy literature derives energy expenditure from oxygen consumption or lactate rather than from a measured ATPase, and a narrow ATPase requirement would exclude the strongest evidence rather than the weakest.
  • Reports indexed under any vocabulary variant of the phenomenon, whether or not they use the word latch — high economy of force maintenance, tonic force maintenance, stress-phosphorylation dissociation, slow cross-bridge cycling, reduced shortening velocity at maintained force, myosin dephosphorylation during sustained contraction, tonic versus phasic smooth muscle. The older literature predates the term and would otherwise be missed.
  • Reports in which the phenotype was sought and NOT found enter as rows under identical rules (§3.11). A vessel class where latch behavior is absent is a finding of this table, not an omission from it.
  • Purified-protein, single-molecule, and in vitro motility reconstitutions enter as rows, tagged as molecular-reconstitution evidence. They can speak to the bridge mechanism and say nothing about vessel class.
  • Mathematical and computational models of latch kinetics enter as rows, tagged as model evidence. A model that predicts latch maintenance in a named vessel is not a measurement in that vessel.
  • Non-vascular smooth muscle (uterine, airway, gastrointestinal, vas deferens) enters only where the report supplies a phenotype or mechanism comparison bearing on vessel-type variation; tagged, and never counted toward the vessel-class question this study asks.

exclude

  • Reviews, textbook chapters, and commentary with no new primary data. They may be used for discovery only, and discovery aids are never cited (§3.7).
  • Reports of maintained force or constriction with no activation, cycling, or energetic readout. Sustained tone alone cannot distinguish an economical hold from ordinary continued activation, which is the whole distinction this table exists to draw.
  • Skeletal-muscle and cardiac-muscle preparations.
  • Clinical, pharmacological, and imaging studies whose endpoint is a whole vessel or tissue response with no cross-bridge-level measurement.
  • Secondary reports restating another included study's measurements without new data (§3.10 — one experiment is one row, not many); where a row's data are shared with another row's, the shared origin is recorded in its independence note.

search protocol (re-runnable)

Discovery runs only after this freeze, by the executing agent's own web search plus direct retrieval of primary documents (PubMed and PubMed Central, Crossref DOI resolution, publisher pages); no deep-research assistant is used, and no brief is cited. Literal queries, each run as written: [latch bridge smooth muscle force maintenance energetic cost]; [economy of force maintenance vascular smooth muscle oxygen consumption]; [stress phosphorylation dissociation arterial smooth muscle]; [latch state arteriole resistance vessel]; [skeletal muscle arteriole myosin light chain phosphorylation sustained constriction]; [precapillary sphincter smooth muscle sustained contraction phosphorylation]; [cannulated pressurized arteriole myogenic tone LC20 phosphorylation shortening velocity]; [latch bridge absence saphenous artery]; [tonic versus phasic smooth muscle myosin dephosphorylation force maintenance]; [smooth muscle ATP consumption cross-bridge phosphorylation carotid media]. Citation chaining, forward and backward, from each identified anchor paper: Dillon et al. 1981 (10.1126/science.6893872), Hai & Murphy 1988 (the case's SRC-HAI-MURPHY-1988), Wingard et al. 1994 (10.1113/jphysiol.1994.sp020422), Han et al. 2006 (10.1152/ajpheart.00977.2005), Call et al. 2006 (10.1152/ajpheart.00086.2006), Hammell et al. 2022 (10.1085/jgp.202213117). Author-family searches: Murphy RA, Eddinger TJ, Ratz PH, Speich JE, Lauzon A-M, Paul RJ, Siegman MJ, Butler TM. Every cell is verified against the primary document before it enters the table; searches that return nothing are reported as failed searches (§3.11).

candidates known at freeze time — dispositions pre-committed

candidatedispositionreason
Dillon, Aksoy, Driska & Murphy 1981, "Myosin Phosphorylation and the Cross-Bridge Cycle in Arterial Smooth Muscle" (Science; 10.1126/science.6893872)includethe founding observation of the phenotype in arterial smooth muscle; the paper the latch-bridge account was built to explain
Hai & Murphy 1988, the four-state latch-bridge kinetic model (the case's SRC-HAI-MURPHY-1988, already cited by VASO-E003)includeenters as model evidence, not a vessel-level demonstration — the distinction this study exists to enforce, applied first to the case's own load-bearing citation
Wingard, Paul & Murphy 1994, "Dependence of ATP consumption on cross-bridge phosphorylation in swine carotid smooth muscle" (J Physiol; 10.1113/jphysiol.1994.sp020422)includea canonical energetics measurement in a large tonic artery; the row that should score high on phenotype and low on knot relevance if the two-axis grading is working
Han, Speich, Eddinger, Berg, Miner et al. 2006, "Evidence for absence of latch-bridge formation in muscular saphenous arteries" (Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol; 10.1152/ajpheart.00977.2005)includea titled absence report in a downstream muscular artery; if the phenotype is not generic across vascular smooth muscle, this is where the table will show it
Call, Han, Speich, Eddinger & Ratz 2006, "Resistance to pressure-induced dilatation in femoral but not saphenous artery: physiological role of latch?" (Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol; 10.1152/ajpheart.00086.2006)includethe pressurized-vessel counterpart to the preceding ring experiments; the anchor for the transmural-pressure column
Wang, Politi, Tania, Bai & Sanderson 2008, "A Mathematical Model of Airway and Pulmonary Arteriole Smooth Muscle" (Biophysical Journal; 10.1529/biophysj.107.113977)includeenters as model evidence — an arteriole-named prediction, which is precisely the kind of record that could be mistaken for an arteriole measurement if the evidence classes were not separated
Hammell, Kachmar, Balassy, IJpma & Lauzon 2022, "Molecular-level evidence of force maintenance by smooth muscle myosin during LC20 dephosphorylation" (J Gen Physiol; 10.1085/jgp.202213117)includeenters as molecular-reconstitution evidence — deliberately vessel-agnostic, so strong on the bridge mechanism and silent on localization
An unlocated canine saphenous-vein report, named in the pre-freeze commentary as inferring latch formation from an approximately 11.9 per cent fall in maximum shortening velocity, with no energetic measurementincluderecorded as an unverified lead, not a citation — the executing agent could not resolve it to a primary document before the freeze. Include if collection resolves it; if it cannot be resolved, the failed search is reported rather than dropped (§3.11), because a candidate that entered the design and then vanished is exactly what this field exists to expose

Method

One row per experimental preparation, not per paper: a study reporting two vessel types under different conditions supplies two rows, and rows sharing an animal cohort, tissue batch, or dataset carry an independence note (§3.10). Every cell is transcribed from the primary document and cited inline with the standard verification label; nothing is completed from memory or from a secondary account. Each row then receives TWO independent grades, recorded separately and never combined into a single score (§3.13). The latch-evidence grade records how directly the report establishes the phenomenon — contemporaneous energetic measurement, biochemical-mechanical measurement, functional inference from shortening velocity or stiffness alone, molecular reconstitution, or model only. The knot-relevance grade records how close the preparation is to what VASO-C020 requires — a pressurized skeletal-muscle arteriole or smaller resistance microvessel, another resistance vessel, or a large artery, vein, or non-vascular preparation. Keeping the axes apart is the point of the table: a carotid ring study can be strong evidence for the phenotype and weak evidence for the location, and collapsing that into one verdict is how a well-established result in the wrong tissue becomes direct support for a claim about muscle knots. Two columns carry the weight the case's own argument turns on. Caliber is recorded as an actual luminal diameter WITH the transmural pressure at which it was measured, because an isometric ring at nominally zero transmural pressure is a different mechanical object from a cannulated vessel regulating its lumen against 40-100 mmHg. Persistence is recorded as whether the activating stimulus remained present, what happened to force or diameter after it was withdrawn, and over what interval — the distinction between economical maintenance under continuing activation and a state that holds on its own. The table reports what the literature contains and does not adjudicate between papers that disagree; disagreements are recorded as the papers state them. Either outcome publishes.

The table16 rows

paperpreparation classspecies, sex and age as reportedvascular bed and named vesselbranch orderluminal diameter (and the pressure at which measured)preparation type and endothelial statustemperaturetransmural pressure and flowactivation stimulusstimulus duration and whether withdrawnforce or diameter time courseactivation readout (LC20 phosphorylation, intracellular calcium)cycling readout (shortening velocity, stiffness)energetic readout (assay named)simultaneity and time resolution of readoutspersistence after withdrawal, and relaxation kineticslatch-evidence gradeknot-relevance gradenotessource
Dillon, Aksoy, Driska & Murphy 1981, 'Myosin Phosphorylation and the Cross-Bridge Cycle in Arterial Smooth Muscle', Science 211:495-497Vessel-level, intact tissueNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).Arterial smooth muscle; the specific artery is not named in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).Not stated in the accessible record (abstract).Not stated in the accessible record (abstract).Not stated in the accessible record (abstract).Not stated in the accessible record (abstract).Not stated in the accessible record (abstract).Not stated in the accessible record (abstract).States that dephosphorylation can produce an attached, noncycling cross-bridge ('latch-bridge') 'responsible for the high economy of force maintenance in this tissue'Phosphorylation of the 20,000-dalton myosin light chain, reported as 'closely correlated with cross-bridge cycling'Cross-bridge cycling; the measurement method is not named in the accessible record'High economy of force maintenance' is asserted; no assay is named in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).Not stated in the accessible record (abstract).Biochemical-mechanical measurement (activation and/or cycling, no energetics)Large artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationThe founding statement of the latch-bridge concept and the origin of the inferential step VASO-C020 depends on. Cells are limited by a two-sentence published abstract; the full text was not accessible to this collection, so the preparation, temperature and energetic assay are recorded as unstated rather than supplied from elsewhere.Dillon PF, Aksoy MO, Driska SP, Murphy RA. Science 1981;211(4481):495-497. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation
Wingard, Paul & Murphy 1994, 'Dependence of ATP consumption on cross-bridge phosphorylation in swine carotid smooth muscle', J Physiol 481(1):111-117Vessel-level, intact tissueSwine; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordCarotid artery mediaConduit arteryNot applicable — medial rings, no lumen pressure reportedMedial rings; endothelial status not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).None — isometric ring preparation, no transmural pressure or flowDepolarizing solutions and agents chosen to hold a wide range of steady-state myoplasmic Ca2+ and MRLC phosphorylationSteady-state measurements; no withdrawal phase reportedSteady-state force measured across the activation range; suprabasal ATP consumption rose almost linearly with MRLC phosphorylation and hyperbolically with active stressMRLC (LC20) phosphorylationNot reported in the accessible recordOxygen consumption, converted to ATP consumption rateSteady-state force and oxygen consumption measured together; time resolution not stated in the accessible recordNot tested — stimulus maintained throughoutDirect — contemporaneous energetic measurementLarge artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationReports that the economy of stress maintenance falls as suprabasal phosphorylation rises — the quantitative core of the economy claim, in a conduit artery at zero transmural pressure.Wingard CJ, Paul RJ, Murphy RA. J Physiol 1994;481(Pt 1):111-117. PMID 7853233. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation

independence: Same laboratory and preparation as the Wingard 1997 row below; the two are not independent tissue populations.

Wingard, Paul & Murphy 1997, 'Energetic cost of activation processes during contraction of swine arterial smooth muscle', J Physiol 501(1):213-223Vessel-level, intact tissueSwine; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordCarotid artery smooth muscleConduit arteryNot applicable — no lumen pressure reportedArterial smooth muscle at controlled length (Lo and 1.8 Lo); endothelial status not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).None — length-controlled preparation, no transmural pressure or flowK+-induced depolarization and protocols varying activation at long lengthSteady-state; no withdrawal phase reportedIsometric contractions with force minimal at 1.8 Lo by design, allowing activation cost to be separated from cross-bridge costMRLC (LC20) phosphorylation, varied from 15% to 50% across protocolsCross-bridge cycling cost (JX) derived, not separately measuredSuprabasal oxygen consumption AND lactate release, partitioned into cross-bridge (JX) and activation (JA) componentsEnergetic and phosphorylation measures taken under matched steady-state conditions; time resolution not stated in the accessible recordNot tested — stimulus maintained throughoutDirect — contemporaneous energetic measurementLarge artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationThe row that vindicates the frozen decision to admit oxygen consumption and lactate rather than requiring a measured ATPase: activation energy is reported as 17-45% of suprabasal JO2 at Lo, so a substantial fraction of the energetic budget is regulatory rather than mechanical.Wingard CJ, Paul RJ, Murphy RA. J Physiol 1997;501(Pt 1):213-223. PMID 9175004. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation

independence: Same laboratory and preparation as the Wingard 1994 row above; the two are not independent tissue populations.

Krisanda & Paul 1988, 'Dependence of force, velocity, and O2 consumption on [Ca2+]o in porcine carotid artery', Am J Physiol 255:C393-C400Vessel-level, intact tissuePorcine; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordCarotid artery mediaConduit arteryNot applicable — media strip and ring preparationsMedia strips and rings; endothelial status not stated in the accessible record37 degrees C (stated)None — isometric strips and rings, no transmural pressure or flow109 mM KCl substituted for NaCl, across extracellular Ca2+ from 0.15 to 7.5 mMSteady state of an isometric contraction; no withdrawal phase reportedIsometric force (Fo) measured at steady state across the Ca2+ rangeExtracellular Ca2+ varied as the activation control; LC20 phosphorylation not reported in the accessible recordUnloaded shortening velocity (Vus) by the slack-test method; 1.7-fold greater at 7.5 mM than 1.6 mM Ca2+ATP utilization rate (JATP) from steady-state tissue oxygen consumptionForce, velocity and oxygen consumption measured in the same steady state; time resolution not stated in the accessible recordNot tested — stimulus maintained throughoutDirect — contemporaneous energetic measurementLarge artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationOne of the few rows stating its temperature (37 C). Economy of tension maintenance reported 3.3-fold greater over 0.15-1.6 mM Ca2+ than over 1.6-7.5 mM, i.e. economy varies with the degree of activation within one vessel.Krisanda JM, Paul RJ. Am J Physiol 1988;255(3 Pt 1):C393-C400. PMID 3421320. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation
Moreland, Moreland & Singer 1987, 'Apparent dissociation between myosin light chain phosphorylation and maximal velocity of shortening in KCl depolarized swine carotid artery: effect of temperature and KCl concentration', Pflugers Arch 408:139-145Vessel-level, intact tissueSwine; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordCarotid artery medial fibersConduit arteryNot applicable — medial fibre preparationMedial fibres; endothelial status not stated in the accessible record37 degrees C and 23 degrees C, compared directly (stated)None — no transmural pressure or flowKCl depolarization at 110 mM and at 40 mMStress development followed by a stress-maintenance period; no withdrawal phase reportedAt 110 mM KCl and 37 C, stress is maintained while MLC phosphorylation and Vo fall back to suprabasal levels — the latch phenotype as classically describedMLC (LC20) phosphorylationMaximal shortening velocity (Vo)None reportedPhosphorylation and velocity followed across development and maintenance phases; exact time resolution not stated in the accessible recordNot tested — depolarizing stimulus maintained throughoutBiochemical-mechanical measurement (activation and/or cycling, no energetics)Large artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationDirectly relevant to the frozen temperature column: dropping from 37 C to 23 C leaves stress and phosphorylation similar but halves Vo, and at 40 mM KCl phosphorylation is sustained rather than transient while Vo is transient — so the phosphorylation-velocity relationship that underwrites the latch reading is not fixed, but varies with temperature and stimulus strength within a single vessel type.Moreland S, Moreland RS, Singer HA. Pflugers Arch 1987;408(2):139-145. PMID 3562201. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation
Fulginiti, Singer & Moreland 1993, 'Phorbol ester-induced contractions of swine carotid artery are supported by slowly cycling crossbridges which are not dependent on calcium or myosin light chain phosphorylation', J Vasc Res 30:315-322Vessel-level, intact tissueSwine; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordCarotid arteryConduit arteryNot applicable — arterial stripsArterial strips; endothelial status not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).None — no transmural pressure or flow1.0 microM phorbol 12,13-dibutyrate in normal or Ca2+-free solution, compared with 110 mM KClSlow stress development to maximum; no withdrawal phase reportedPDBu induced maximal stress both with and without calciumMLC (LC20) phosphorylation and calcium dependence; stress under PDBu was independent of bothShortening velocity and the stress-stiffness relationship; stress-stiffness did not differ between KCl and PDBu despite significantly different phosphorylationNone reportedVelocity and phosphorylation followed together during stimulation; exact time resolution not stated in the accessible recordNot tested — stimulus maintained throughoutBiochemical-mechanical measurement (activation and/or cycling, no energetics)Large artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationA slowly-cycling, high-stress state reached without calcium or LC20 phosphorylation. Recorded here because it shows the phenotype the latch grade tracks can be produced by a route other than the dephosphorylated-bridge mechanism, which is why this study grades the two axes separately.Fulginiti J 3rd, Singer HA, Moreland RS. J Vasc Res 1993;30(6):315-322. PMID 8241364. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation
Han, Speich, Eddinger, Berg, Miner et al. 2006, 'Evidence for absence of latch-bridge formation in muscular saphenous arteries', Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 291:H138-H146 — femoral artery armVessel-level, intact tissueRabbit; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordFemoral artery (elastic)Conduit artery; parent of the saphenous branchZero-pressure lumen diameter reported as roughly twice that of the saphenous artery; absolute value not stated in the accessible recordIsolated rings; endothelial status not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).None — isometric rings at zero transmural pressureKClAt least 10 minutes, maintained; no withdrawal phase reportedIsometric stress rose to 1.2e5 N/m2 within 16 s and was sustained at 1.3e5 N/m2 at 10 minIntracellular Ca2+ peaked near 250 nM and declined to about 175 nM by 10 min; MLC phosphorylation 42% at steady stateForce redevelopment after quick release (slower than saphenous); permeabilized relaxation rateNone reportedStress, Ca2+ and phosphorylation compared at matched timepoints (16 s, 10 min)Not tested — KCl maintained throughoutBiochemical-mechanical measurement (activation and/or cycling, no energetics)Large artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationSustained stress at falling Ca2+ — the latch phenotype. The authors' four-state Hai-Murphy simulations support latch-bridge formation here but not in the saphenous row below.Han YS, Speich JE, Eddinger TJ, Berg KM, Miner AS, et al. Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 2006;291(1):H138-H146. PMID 16461375. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation

independence: Same publication and animal cohort as the saphenous row below; the two arms are paired, not independent.

Han, Speich, Eddinger, Berg, Miner et al. 2006, 'Evidence for absence of latch-bridge formation in muscular saphenous arteries', Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 291:H138-H146 — saphenous artery armVessel-level, intact tissueRabbit; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordSaphenous artery (muscular branch of the femoral)One branch order downstream of the femoral arteryZero-pressure lumen diameter reported as roughly half that of the femoral artery, with roughly twice the medial thickness; absolute value not stated in the accessible recordIsolated rings; endothelial status not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).None — isometric rings at zero transmural pressureKClAt least 10 minutes, maintained; no withdrawal phase reportedIsometric stress rose to 1.2e5 N/m2 within 16 s but fell 40% to 0.8e5 N/m2 by 10 minIntracellular Ca2+ declined to about 175 nM as in the femoral, but MLC phosphorylation was 28% versus 42%Faster force redevelopment on quick release and faster permeabilized relaxation than femoral; higher fast-to-slow myosin isoform ratioNone reportedStress, Ca2+ and phosphorylation compared at matched timepoints (16 s, 10 min)Not tested — KCl maintained throughoutBiochemical-mechanical measurement (activation and/or cycling, no energetics)Large artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationThe published absence report, and the strongest evidence in the table that latch behaviour is not generic across vascular smooth muscle: the authors attribute the 40% stress loss to expressed motor proteins that do not support latch-bridge formation, alongside higher MLC phosphatase. Still a named conduit artery, not a resistance microvessel.Han YS, Speich JE, Eddinger TJ, Berg KM, Miner AS, et al. Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 2006;291(1):H138-H146. PMID 16461375. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation

independence: Same publication and animal cohort as the femoral row above; the two arms are paired, not independent.

Call, Han, Speich, Eddinger & Ratz 2006, 'Resistance to pressure-induced dilatation in femoral but not saphenous artery: physiological role of latch?', Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 291:H1513-H1520 — femoral artery armVessel-level, intact tissueRabbit; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordFemoral artery (elastic)Conduit artery; parent of the saphenous branchLumen diameter measured under pressure; absolute values not stated in the accessible recordCannulated, pressurized vessel; endothelial status not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).80 mmHg baseline, tested to 150 mmHg, with a ramp from 60 to 120 mmHg; flow not stated in the accessible recordKClCompared at 30 s and 10 min, maintained; no withdrawal phase reportedIsobaric active constriction was greater at 10 min than 30 s (the reverse of saphenous); once constricted, the femoral held a smaller diameter through a pressure ramp than it could reach by isobaric constriction at the same pressureNot reported in this paper's accessible recordNot reported in this paper's accessible recordNone reportedDiameter followed through the pressure ramp; other readouts absentNot tested as withdrawal. The authors frame the effect as temporarily resisting dilatation during transient pressure increases, with KCl still presentFunctional inference (mechanical behaviour only)Large artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationThe only pressurized-vessel row in the table, and the reason transmural pressure is a frozen column. Note the authors' own framing is temporary resistance to dilatation under a maintained stimulus, not an autonomous persistent state.Call CL, Han YS, Speich JE, Eddinger TJ, Ratz PH. Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 2006;291(4):H1513-H1520. PMID 16731652. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation

independence: Same publication and laboratory as the saphenous row below, and a follow-up on the same vessel pair as the Han 2006 rows; not an independent replication.

Call, Han, Speich, Eddinger & Ratz 2006, 'Resistance to pressure-induced dilatation in femoral but not saphenous artery: physiological role of latch?', Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 291:H1513-H1520 — saphenous artery armVessel-level, intact tissueRabbit; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordSaphenous artery (muscular branch of the femoral)One branch order downstream of the femoral arterySmaller absolute diameter than femoral; values not stated in the accessible recordCannulated, pressurized vessel; endothelial status not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).80 mmHg baseline, tested to 150 mmHg, with a ramp from 60 to 120 mmHg; flow not stated in the accessible recordKClCompared at 30 s and 10 min, maintained; no withdrawal phase reportedIsobaric active constriction was greater at 30 s than 10 min — constriction faded under a maintained stimulus; the constricted saphenous did not hold a smaller diameter than isobaric constriction through the pressure rampNot reported in this paper's accessible recordNot reported in this paper's accessible recordNone reportedDiameter followed through the pressure ramp; other readouts absentNot tested as withdrawal; constriction decayed while the stimulus was still presentFunctional inference (mechanical behaviour only)Large artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationPercent isobaric active constriction was larger in saphenous than femoral (roughly 80% versus 30% at 120 mmHg), which the authors attribute to absolute diameter rather than contractile mechanism — a caution against reading constriction magnitude as evidence of latch.Call CL, Han YS, Speich JE, Eddinger TJ, Ratz PH. Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 2006;291(4):H1513-H1520. PMID 16731652. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation

independence: Same publication and laboratory as the femoral row above, and a follow-up on the same vessel pair as the Han 2006 rows; not an independent replication.

Zou, Ratz & Hill 1995, 'Role of myosin phosphorylation and [Ca2+]i in myogenic reactivity and arteriolar tone', Am J Physiol 269:H1590-H1596Vessel-level, intact microvesselRat; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordCremaster muscle arteriole — skeletal-muscle resistance microvesselArteriole; branch order not stated in the accessible recordApproximately 100 micrometres, vessels initially pressurized to 70 mmHgDissected free of surrounding tissue and cannulated on glass pipettes; endothelial status not stated in the accessible record34 degrees C (stated)Steady-state intraluminal pressures from 30 to 170 mmHg; explicitly no intraluminal flowIntraluminal pressure itself (myogenic activation)Steady-state pressures held; pressure never withdrawn to test persistenceRaising intraluminal pressure produced significant constrictionBoth measured and both ROSE with pressure: fura-2 340/380 ratio 0.80 at 30 mmHg versus 1.02 at 120 mmHg; MLC phosphorylation 27.7% at 30 mmHg versus 39.6% at 120 mmHg, falling to 8.5% in Ca2+-free EGTA solutionNot reportedNone reportedCa2+ and phosphorylation measured at matched steady-state pressures; phosphorylation required freezing the vessel, so it is not a continuous time seriesNot tested — the pressure stimulus was maintained throughoutBiochemical-mechanical measurement (activation and/or cycling, no energetics)Pressurized skeletal-muscle arteriole or smaller resistance microvesselThe most anatomically relevant row in the table, and it runs against the latch reading: in a pressurized skeletal-muscle arteriole near physiological temperature, maintained constriction is accompanied by RAISED calcium and RAISED LC20 phosphorylation, not by force held while activation falls. The study was not designed as a latch test and its authors do not present it as one.Zou H, Ratz PH, Hill MA. Am J Physiol 1995;269(5 Pt 2):H1590-H1596. PMID 7503253. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation

independence: Same laboratory and preparation as the Zou 2000 row below.

Zou, Ratz & Hill 2000, 'Temporal aspects of Ca2+ and myosin phosphorylation during myogenic and norepinephrine-induced arteriolar constriction', J Vasc Res 37:556-567Vessel-level, intact microvesselRat; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordCremaster muscle arteriole — skeletal-muscle resistance microvesselArteriole; branch order not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record; vessel diameter was measured as an outcomeCannulated and loaded with fura-2; endothelial status not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).Acute increases in intraluminal pressure; values and flow not stated in the accessible recordTwo compared: acute intraluminal pressure increase (myogenic) and norepinephrineFollowed to steady state; neither stimulus withdrawn to test persistenceVessel diameter followed together with Ca2+ and phosphorylation — the only time-resolved microvessel row in the tablePressure gave a biphasic Ca2+ rise (transient peak, then a steady state still above control) with a MONOPHASIC rise in myosin phosphorylation correlated with instantaneous wall tension; norepinephrine gave larger Ca2+ transients and biphasic phosphorylationNot reportedNone reportedDiameter, Ca2+ and phosphorylation related temporally within the same protocolNot tested — stimuli maintainedBiochemical-mechanical measurement (activation and/or cycling, no energetics)Pressurized skeletal-muscle arteriole or smaller resistance microvesselThe paper states its conclusion in terms this study's question needs: spontaneous arteriolar tone 'represents a state of maintained smooth muscle activation that requires increases in [Ca2+]i and myosin light-chain phosphorylation'. At this caliber, maintained tone is reported as maintained activation.Zou H, Ratz PH, Hill MA. J Vasc Res 2000;37(6):556-567. PMID 11146410. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation

independence: Same laboratory and preparation as the Zou 1995 row above.

Moreno-Dominguez, Colinas, El-Yazbi et al. 2013, 'Ca2+ sensitization due to myosin light chain phosphatase inhibition and cytoskeletal reorganization in the myogenic response of skeletal muscle resistance arteries', J Physiol 591:1235-1250Vessel-level, intact microvesselRat; sex and age not stated in the accessible recordGracilis and cremaster skeletal-muscle resistance arteriesResistance artery / arteriole; branch order not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record; arterial diameter measured as an outcome at each pressurePressurized resistance arteries; endothelial status not stated in the accessible recordNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).Intraluminal pressures of 10, 80, 120 and 140 mmHg; flow not stated in the accessible recordIntraluminal pressure (myogenic), with H1152, GF109203X and latrunculin B used to suppress Rho-kinase, PKC and actin polymerizationHeld at each pressure step; pressure not withdrawn to test persistenceDiameter determined at each intraluminal pressure alongside the biochemistryLC20 phosphorylation already high at 40% at 10 mmHg, rising to a maximum near 55% at 80 mmHg with NO further change at 120 and 140 mmHg; MYPT1 phosphorylation rose and was blocked by the Rho-kinase inhibitor; CPI-17 phosphorylation unchangedNot reported; G-actin content fell by about 65% at 80 mmHg, indexing cytoskeletal reorganization rather than cross-bridge cyclingNone reportedDiameter and all phosphorylation measures determined at matched intraluminal pressuresNot tested — pressure maintainedBiochemical-mechanical measurement (activation and/or cycling, no energetics)Pressurized skeletal-muscle arteriole or smaller resistance microvesselThe closest preparation in the literature to what VASO-C020 requires — named skeletal-muscle resistance arteries, pressurized, with LC20 phosphorylation measured against diameter. Sustained myogenic constriction is again accompanied by sustained, elevated LC20 phosphorylation, and the mechanism the authors identify for holding it is Rho-kinase-mediated Ca2+ sensitization plus actin polymerization, not dephosphorylated latch bridges.Moreno-Dominguez A, Colinas O, El-Yazbi A, et al. J Physiol 2013;591(5):1235-1250. PMID 23230233. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation
Hammell, Kachmar, Balassy, IJpma & Lauzon 2022, 'Molecular-level evidence of force maintenance by smooth muscle myosin during LC20 dephosphorylation', J Gen Physiol 154(10)Molecular reconstitution — not a vesselPurified smooth-muscle myosin from tonic and phasic sources; species not stated in the accessible recordNone — vessel-agnostic by designNot applicableNot applicableLaser trap (single-beam) and in vitro motility assay in a chamber built to inject myosin light chain phosphatase without bulk flowNot stated in the accessible record (abstract).Not applicablePhosphorylated myosin pulling actin to a plateau force, then MLCP injected to drive dephosphorylationForce followed through the dephosphorylation period; the analogue of withdrawal is the removal of activation itselfForce maintained during LC20 dephosphorylation, and maintained LONGER for tonic than for phasic smooth-muscle myosinLC20 phosphorylation level assessed in a parallel in vitro motility assay under matched conditionsActin filament motility; strong-bond behaviour inferred from force maintenance without cyclingNo direct energetic assay; a mixture assay with skeletal myosin indicates the strong bonds survive only if surrounding myosin supplies no energyForce measured continuously in the trap; phosphorylation assessed in a parallel matched assay rather than simultaneously in the same chamberThe clearest persistence result in the table, but at the molecular grain only: force persists after activation is removedMolecular reconstitutionLarge artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationThe strongest evidence in the table for the latch-bridge MECHANISM — strong bonds from dephosphorylated, noncycling cross-bridges — and simultaneously the weakest for localization, since it is deliberately vessel-agnostic. Exactly the case the two-axis grading was frozen to keep apart.Hammell RS, Kachmar L, Balassy Z, IJpma G, Lauzon A-M. J Gen Physiol 2022;154(10):e202213117. PMID 36001043. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation
Hai & Murphy 1988, 'Cross-bridge phosphorylation and regulation of latch state in smooth muscle', Am J Physiol 254:C99-C106Model — not a measurementNot applicableNoneNot applicableNot applicableFour-state kinetic cross-bridge modelNot applicableNot applicableNot applicableNot applicableReproduces high sustained stress at low myosin phosphorylation by letting dephosphorylated but attached cross-bridges detach slowlyPhosphorylation is the model's only regulatory inputCross-bridge cycling is modelled, not measuredNot applicableNot applicableNot applicableModel onlyLarge artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationAlready in the case ledger as SRC-HAI-MURPHY-1988, cited by VASO-E003 as evidence for VASO-C010. Entered here in the model class as the freeze pre-committed, to make explicit that the case's load-bearing latch citation is a kinetic model, not a vessel-level demonstration.Hai CM, Murphy RA. Am J Physiol 1988;254(1 Pt 1):C99-C106. Ledger source SRC-HAI-MURPHY-1988, verified in the 2026-08-22 citation batch. · Abstract; ledger source record AI-verified citation
Wang, Politi, Tania, Bai & Sanderson 2008, 'A mathematical model of airway and pulmonary arteriole smooth muscle', Biophys J 94:2053-2064Model — not a measurementFitted to murine data as stated in the accessible recordPulmonary arteriole (modelled), alongside airway smooth muscleNot applicableNot applicableModified Hai-Murphy cross-bridge model incorporating Ca2+ regulation of MLCK and MLCPNot applicableNot applicableSimulated Ca2+ signals, including oscillations versus steady elevationNot applicablePredicts that relaxation rate is set principally by the rate of release of the latch-bridge state, faster in airway than in arterioleCa2+, MLCK and MLCP are model variablesModelledNot applicableNot applicablePredicted, not measuredModel onlyLarge artery, vein, or non-vascular preparationThe frequently invoked arteriole latch reference. It names an arteriole but measures nothing in one, and the arteriole is pulmonary rather than skeletal-muscle. Recorded in the model class precisely so an anatomically suggestive title cannot be counted as a microvascular demonstration.Wang I, Politi AZ, Tania N, Bai Y, Sanderson MJ. Biophys J 2008;94(6):2053-2064. PMID 18065464. Abstract read at native verification 2026-09-01. · Abstract AI-verified citation

Findings

  • No study located meets all four of the conditions the question sets. Across every row, contemporaneous energetic measurement appears only in large tonic arterial preparations — swine and porcine carotid — and never in an arteriole or any resistance microvessel. The frozen literal queries aimed at microvascular energetics returned nothing, and two further searches run specifically for arteriole-level oxygen consumption or ATP economy also returned nothing. The energetic feasibility argument under VASO-C020 therefore rests entirely on measurements made in conduit arteries at zero transmural pressure.→ ledger record VASO-E019
  • The target tissue compartment has nevertheless been examined with the right molecular readout, and what it shows does not look like latch. Three rows are pressurized skeletal-muscle resistance vessels — rat cremaster and gracilis — in which LC20 phosphorylation was measured against diameter. In all three, maintained constriction is accompanied by maintained or rising LC20 phosphorylation rather than by force held while activation falls: phosphorylation rises with pressure (27.7% at 30 mmHg to 39.6% at 120 mmHg), rises monophasically with wall tension, and sits at 40% even at 10 mmHg rising to about 55% at 80 mmHg. One of these papers states the conclusion directly, that spontaneous arteriolar tone 'represents a state of maintained smooth muscle activation that requires increases in [Ca2+]i and myosin light-chain phosphorylation'. None of the three was designed as a latch test and none frames itself as one, so this is a mismatch between the hypothesis and the nearest available evidence rather than a refutation of it.→ ledger record VASO-E020
  • Latch behaviour is demonstrably not generic across vascular smooth muscle, and the divergence was never followed downstream. The paired rabbit femoral and saphenous rows show sustained stress at falling calcium in the femoral and a 40% stress loss in its own muscular branch, which the authors attribute to expressed motor proteins that do not support latch-bridge formation. Forward citation chaining from both 2006 papers found no study extending that comparison into arterioles or the microcirculation, so the caliber series that would answer this study's question has never been run — which is the specific gap VASO-R004 is now designed to fill.→ ledger record VASO-E021
  • Persistence after stimulus withdrawal is untested at every caliber. In all thirteen vessel-level rows the activating stimulus — KCl, norepinephrine, or intraluminal pressure — remained present for the duration of the measurement, and no row followed force or diameter after it was removed. The only persistence result in the table is the 2022 molecular reconstitution, in which purified smooth-muscle myosin maintains force through LC20 dephosphorylation, longer for tonic than phasic myosin. The published record therefore speaks to economical maintenance under continuing activation, and is silent on the autonomous, input-free persistence that a chronic knot would require.
  • Two structural cautions came out of the collection that bear on how the phenotype should be read. The 1993 phorbol-ester row reaches maximal stress with slowly cycling cross-bridges independent of both calcium and LC20 phosphorylation, so the latch phenotype can be produced by a route other than the dephosphorylated-bridge mechanism; and the 1987 temperature row shows the phosphorylation-velocity relationship underwriting the latch reading is itself contingent, shifting with temperature between 37 and 23 degrees C and with stimulus strength. Both are reasons the two grading axes were frozen apart, and both argue against treating any single preparation's economy result as a general property of vascular smooth muscle.

Limitations

  • Every row was built from the published abstract. No full text was accessible to this collection: the three decisive skeletal-muscle arteriole papers are not in PubMed Central or Europe PMC open access, and the remainder are behind publisher paywalls. Cells that an abstract does not state are recorded as unstated rather than completed from any other source, which is why temperature, endothelial status and branch order are largely blank. A collection with full-text access would fill those columns and could revise cells, though it is unlikely to change the two grades.
  • Three candidates found by the search were excluded by the frozen criteria and are named here so the exclusions are visible rather than silent. Butler, Siegman & Mooers 1986 (Am J Physiol 251:C945-C950) argues from rabbit taenia coli energetics that economical force maintenance reflects a general slowing of cross-bridge cycling rather than a distinct class of latch bridges — directly relevant to the mechanism axis, but gastrointestinal smooth muscle bearing on mechanism generally rather than on vessel-type variation, which is the only ground the frozen criteria admit non-vascular tissue on. Takeya et al. 2008 (Am J Physiol Renal Physiol 294:F1487-F1492) quantifies LC20 phosphorylation in single renal afferent arterioles but reports no force or diameter time course, failing the first inclusion rule. Takeya 2016 (J Smooth Muscle Res 52:45-55) is indexed as a review. A successor study should widen the criteria to admit the first of these.
  • One pre-committed known candidate could not be resolved: the canine saphenous-vein report said to infer latch formation from an approximately 11.9 per cent fall in maximum shortening velocity. Searches against PubMed and Crossref did not locate it, and it is recorded here as a failed search rather than dropped. Its absence does not affect any finding, since a vein row would grade low on knot relevance in any case.
  • Discovery ran against PubMed, Europe PMC and Crossref. Literature that is not indexed there — older non-indexed journals, book chapters, theses — could contain a demonstration this table misses, and the pre-1970 economy literature is poorly covered by these indexes. The completeness claim is therefore the one the freeze committed to: an evidence map of what the frozen strategy locates, not of everything that exists.
  • The two grades on each row are the executing agent's judgment applied to the frozen vocabulary, not a measurement. The knot-relevance axis in particular required a call on the rabbit saphenous artery, graded here as a large-vessel preparation because it is a named conduit artery, even though it is the most downstream vessel in the table and carries the study's most interesting negative result.
  • Absence of a demonstration is not a demonstration of absence. Nothing in this table shows that skeletal-muscle arterioles cannot form latch bridges. It shows that nobody has measured the energetic cost of maintained constriction at that caliber, that the studies which did measure activation there found it maintained rather than falling, and that no one has withdrawn the stimulus and watched.

provenance

AI-authored project work (Claude Opus 5, via Cursor cloud agent), run 2026-09-01-study-vaso-s001-collection on 2026-09-01, prompt aletheia-study-collection-v1 — not human-reviewed. A study is secondary synthesis of published material under criteria frozen in advance; it never grades a claim. Whatever it shows enters the case only as ordinary evidence records, judged by the independent model panel like everything else.

Executes research item: VASO-R007 (Where has the latch actually been demonstrated? An evidence map by vessel type and caliber)